Coffee Date | No. 1

Coffee Date

Every month, bloggers come together for an online coffee date hosted by Erin Salmon. Visit her link-up over at www.erinsalmonwrites.com .

If we were on a coffee date, I’d tell you how excited I am to start blogging again. I haven’t really written publicly for two years now. With a few exceptions, every time I’ve started to publish something, God’s whispered (and sometimes shouted), “not yet.” Sometimes we have to sit in the silence for awhile and listen. In the listening, we find our way again.

If we were on a coffee date, I’d confess I’m also terrified to start blogging again. Writing publicly requires a level of vulnerability I haven’t allowed myself in awhile. The fear is part of why it’s taken me so long to jump back in. We live in volatile times. We are quick to react and slow to listen and consider. What if I say something wrong? Will people give me the grace to learn and make mistakes?

If we were on a coffee date, I’d encourage you to learn more about the Enneagram. It’s kind of the “in” thing to do right now, but learning about my type (a nine, for those curious) changed my life earlier this year. The Enneagram focuses on our basic fears and motivations. Type Nines think their voices don’t matter and can shrink into themselves. Blogging is one way I’m learning to combat this fear and remember that God has given me a voice and a story worth sharing. I lost sight of that for awhile.

If we were on a coffee date, I’d ask you if you’ve read anything that inspired you or fired you up recently. I’ve been in a bit of a non-fiction rut lately. Everything I read seems to fall flat. Whose words are speaking to your heart right now?

If we were on a coffee date, I’d ask you how we live our lives with intention. What are small steps we can take to living on purpose? I’ve got the desire and the heart to do and be so many things, but I sometimes lack the intention to make them a reality.

If we were on a coffee date, I’d tell you I’m becoming a morning person again and loving it. I read somewhere recently that it takes around sixty days to form a new habit. Building a morning routine that is life giving and sticking to took a few weeks. Now that I’ve figured it out, I jump out of bed each morning. I like waking up slowly and taking sometime to myself before jumping into the day’s craziness. What gets you out of bed in the morning?

Finally, if we were on a coffee date, I’d ask you what you’re looking forward to this summer. Summer is always tricky for me because I don’t have a consistent routine. Even work is a little all over the place during the summer. How do you deal with less structure? What fun things do you like to do during the summer?

10 thoughts on “Coffee Date | No. 1

  1. Erin Salmon says:

    Rachel! So nice to meet you. How did you find out about our little coffee date meet up? It’s the loveliest little online community. I hope you’ll find that there is more than enough room and heaps of grace for you here. I haven’t done as much research into Enneagram types as I want to, but just based on what I have read, I’m a Type 2. And I’m in the same boat as you when it comes to lacking intention. I have so many ideas and desires for my life, but I am a terrible self-starter. Let me know if you get any good tips for this.

    All the love,
    Erin

    Like

    • rfreeny says:

      Hi Erin! I can’t remember how I first found your blog, but I’ve been reading it since the beginning of this year. I love it so much. I’ve also started reading several other great writers that I discovered through this link-up. You’re right, it seems like a lovely little community. I always enjoy the Coffee Date posts, so I thought it would be fun to join in and ease back into blogging. Reading about the Enneagram always overwhelmed me, but I went to an in-person workshop earlier this year and found the face-to-face experience helped make it less intimidating. Thanks for hosting this link-up and welcoming me in! -Rachel

      Like

      • Erin Salmon says:

        Yes! Coffee dates are a perfect way to ease back into public writing. So glad that you chose to join us. I saw that you live in North GA. My husband and I are currently in SC, but we spent a few years in NE GA in college and after graduation. Where in North GA are you? Such a small world we live in. 🙂

        Like

  2. Bella Easterbrook says:

    Hi Rachel! It’s great that you’ve joined us for our coffee date! A book that spoke to my heart recently is Finding I Am by Lysa TerKeurst – it really helped me draw closer to Jesus and deepen my Bible reading times.

    Like

  3. Linda Williams says:

    Rachel, you have peaked my interest in what this Enneagram thing is all about. I love finding out about new ideas! We love having you at FBCG. Can’t wait to read your next post. Blogging is something I’ve always thought about, and dabbled in a couple times, but can’t get organized enough to be consistently committed to it….guess that will show up somewhere in my own Enneagram!

    Like

    • rfreeny says:

      Hi Linda! Thanks for the encouragement. I love being at FBC. If you want to start with an easy to read Enneagram book, I recommend “The Road Back to You.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

